Thursday, September 22, 2016

Grand Finale for Leigh Statham's Blog Tour for The Perilous Journey Of The Much Too Spontaneous Girl

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
The Perilous Journey of the Much-Too-Spontaneous Girl
By Leigh Statham

We hope you enjoyed getting a little taste of Lady Marguerite Vadnay's adventures in this Steampunk world. If you missed any of the tour stops, go back and check them out...

Launch - Tour Welcome

"I’m so excited to share my latest adventure with you. Lady Marguerite Vadnay is at it again, causing problems, and getting in trouble around the world."

The Broke Book Bank - Review

"Right away, I was pulled into the story. It was easy on the eyes and flowed beautifully. There’s plenty of refresher information so I didn’t feel like I missed anything. It was quite comfortable just jumping in. My luck paid off and the good feeling lasted."



Falling Leaves - Excerpt

Lady Marguerite Vadnay strapped herself into the tiny compartment and slipped her goggles over her eyes. A glass hood lowered over the upper half while her lower body sat snug in the cockpit of the single-man aership. The wind was blowing enough to rock the small cabin back and forth as her envelope filled beside her, eventually leaving the ground completely, its seams tight with helium.

Letters From Annie (Douglass) Lima - Interview

What dangers should we avoid in New France?

Don’t get on the wrong side of a pirate, or a nun. Some of the girls at His Royal Majesty’s Flight Academy for Resilient Young Women wouldn’t be fun to run into in a dark alley if you’ve recently stolen their boyfriend. But for the most part it’s a wonderful place to visit.

The Silver Dagger Scriptorium - Promo

Katie's Clean Book Collection - Top 10 Tools Lady Marguerite Always Has on Hand

2. A Dashing Young Man (or two) – This goes without saying. A lady must have someone to dote on her every need and provide for her, unless you are a young lady who can take care of herself, then a dashing young man is an excellent target for anger or love, depending on the day.



Wishful Endings - Excerpt

The view was instantly breathtaking. Her new home city of Montreal lay beneath her in all its splendor. The river wound like a loose ribbon through the brick and wood dwellings. Her school was visible almost immediately, its roof littered with experimental equipment for weather and aviations. The chapel caught her eye next, its soaring crucifix and brightly colored windows winking in the perfect morning sun.

Bookworm Lisa - Excerpt

Before she could call for help, Marguerite was whipped around the tower, her envelop caught in the trusses. She banged into one pylon and then another, the glass around her shattered, tearing at her exposed cheeks and nose. She cried out and braced herself for impact with the ground, her giggles from the moment before were now cries for help.

Rockin' Book Reviews - The Beauty of a Steampunk Setting

But even better than the aesthetic beauty of the steampunk life is the versatility it affords a history buff. You can take almost any story from the past and turn it into something amazing using the basics of steampunk world builind.



Mel's Shelves - Crushing on Jacques

Jacques Laviolette is a man of many talents. Marguerite frequently takes for granted the tiger she has by the tail in this series. He comes from money, but he’s seen the rough side of life as well. He’s handsome, has a secure future as an aership captain, and certainly doesn’t need the headaches she brings to his life, and yet, he loves her anyway.

Christy's Cozy Corners - Excerpt

“Marguerite!” Jacques was the first on the scene. “Are you alright, my dear? Quick! Someone get a ladder. Call the medic! Move!” He was barking orders like the Air Captain he was born to be.

EskieMama Reads - Interview

What’s your next project?

I have a scifi book out on sub right now, and this amazing idea for a steampunk novel based on a Broadway play. Can’t really say much more, but keep your eyes open for some awesomeness!

Don't forget to enter the awesome giveaway below!

The Perilous Journey of the Much-Too-Spontaneous Girl
The Perilous Journey of the Much-Too-Spontaneous Girl
(The Perilous Journey of the Not-So-Innocuous Girl #2)
by Leigh Statham
YA Steampunk
Paperback & ebook, 297 pages
September 20th 2016 by Month9Books

Lady Marguerite Vadnay and her trusty automaton, Outil, have settled into life in New France rather well. Marguerite is top of the class at flight school and her future as an aerpilot is nearly secure. She has everything she wants— except a commission on the pirate hunting dirigible The Renegade. Using every card in her aristocratic arsenal, Marguerite wiggles her way onto the finest warship France has to offer. But as usual, Marguerite’s plans endanger the lives of those she holds dear— only this time no one else is going to save them. As Marguerite and Outil set off on a rescue mission they may not return from, she finally realizes it’s time to reorder her cogs.

This steampunk adventure is littered with facts from The Golden Age of Piracy and follows (not too closely) some of the lives and adventures of the brave men and women who sailed the seas as privateers, pirates and soldiers.


Other Books in the Series

The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1)
The Perilous Journey of the Not-So-Innocuous Girl
(The Perilous Journey of the Not-So-Innocuous Girl #1)
by Leigh Statham
YA Steampunk
Paperback & ebook, 297 pages
March 17th 2015 by Month9Books

Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can’t quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend Claude, a common smithy in the family's steam forge. When Claude leaves for New France in search of a better life, Marguerite decides to follow him and test her suspicions of love—only the trip proves to be more harrowing than she anticipated. Love, adventure, and restitution await her if she can survive the voyage.

Based on the true story of The Daughters of the King, Louis the XIV’s social program to settle the wilds of Canada with women of noble birth, Marguerite’s steampunk adventure follows in the footsteps of nearly one thousand brave women and girls who were rewarded handsomely for trekking across the pirate infested Atlantic to a strange land.

"The writing is solid and the world-building – that clever combination of historical detail and Ms. Statham’s imagination – is excellent."~ The Australia Times Books


Leigh Statham was raised in the wilds of rural Idaho, but found her heart in New York City. She worked as a waitress, maid, artist, math teacher, nurse, web designer, art director, thirty-foot inflatable pig and mule wrangler before she settled down in the semi-quiet role of wife, mother and writer. She resides in North Carolina with her husband, four children, five chickens and two suspected serial killer cats.

Leigh is also a founder of QuantumFairyTales.com and is currently serving a life sentence there as senior editor and gnome driver. She loves all things sparkly and strange that go bump in the night.

Tour Giveaway


• 1 winner will win signed copies of The Perilous Journey of the Not-So-Innocuous Girl and The Perilous Journey of the Much-Too-Spontaneous Girl plus some awesome Steampunk goggles (US only)
• 3 winners will win ebook sets of The Perilous Journey of the Not-So-Innocuous Girl and The Perilous Journey of the Much-Too-Spontaneous Girl (open internationally)
• Ends September 23rd
;Grab Our Button!

Sunday, September 18, 2016

Book Review for When You Come Home by Nancy Calvin Pitts




When You Come Home

by Nancy Calvin Pitts


 5  stars

Reviewed by : Tonya

Format : Kindle Edition

Published by : Lighthouse Publishing
Source: Purchased Copy

Gene:  History, Romance



Blurb

"Daphne Cavin's poignant story of love, loss and sacrifice was one of the most memorable I encountered in writing The Greatest Generation. Her daughter now completes the story with this very heartfelt book." - Tom Brokaw The war claimed Daphne Kelley's young husband's life, but it couldn't keep Raymond - and his abiding love - from being with her when she needed him most. First glimpsed in Tom Brokaw's landmark bestseller, The Greatest Generation, the true-life love story of Daphne and Raymond Kelley went far deeper than Brokaw's feature could reveal. Now When You Come Home provides the complete account of what New York Times book reviewer Michael Lind cited as "perhaps the most compelling" love story in Brokaw's book. Taking its title from a poem newlywed Daphne sent her soldier husband during World War II, When You Come Home tells of their young love in the heartland at the brink of war, and of the crushing uncertainty and fear as they find themselves a world apart. And when the poem comes back to Daphne - blood-stained by Raymond's mortal wounds - When You Come Home shares the extraordinary event that restores the grieving young widow's faith in the transcendent power of love.



Our Review


When you come home is a love story between Daphne Kelley Cavin and her husband Raymond Kelley. The story was written by Daphne's daughter and is set during World War II and is based on a true story. I am going to tell you right up front this story was moving, touching, heartbreaking, beautiful, sad, funny, every emotion you can possibly have you are going to have reading this book. 

Daphne and Raymond meet at a get together and their story unfolds from there, the car rides, the dinners and movies it's all so romantic. To watch their love unfold it feels like such a privilege to be a part of it. Almost like watching a Hallmark movie. This book could be a Hallmark movie. The wedding was sweet and very sentimental. And of course the war looming always wondering if Raymond will ever get that notice of induction, and he does. 

I can't imagine being as young as they were, newly married and learning your husband will be going off to war to fight for his country. To fight the Germans. The story continues sharing how Daphne gets by from day to day. The times they travel to spend with each other while Raymond is going through training and that sad moment when he finally heads to France to join the battle.

The sweet letters they write each other, the lovely poem "When You Come Home", the hold your breath moment when a dreaded US Department of Army telegram arrives stating her husband has been injured. 

This is not a typical happily ever after story, why because, Daphne and Raymond never get to live the life they dreamed of. Raymond is killed in action, killed doing his job, killed saving others. Raymond died at the age of 22. 

The story continues sharing the unimaginable grief that Daphne goes through, the moment he died, she realizes later he visited her, and how she overcomes, and moves on and eventually begins to live again. 

I can't say enough how much this story moved me. If Amazon would let me this would be the only other book I would ever give a TEN star rating to. The book, the story is that good.
Please read it, you won't be disappointed.




ISBN-13: 9780984765508
ISBN-10: 0984765506

Amazon | Amazon Austria | Amazon Canada | Amazon China | Amazon France | Amazon Germany | Amazon Italy | Amazon Japan | Amazon Spain | Amazon United Kingdom | Amazon France | Amazon France | Amazon France | Baker | B & N | Book Depository | B-A-M | Fishpond AU | Flux Books | Foyles (UK) | Google Play | Kobo | Hachette | Harpercollins | Harlequin | Headline UK | iBooks | Chapters | IndieBound | Macmillan | Powells | Recorded Books | Rakuten | Simon & Schuster | Txtr | Walmart | Waterstones (UK) | WHSmith (UK)







Friday, September 16, 2016

A Book Review for A Secret Wish by Barbara Freethy




A Secret Wish

by: Barbara Freethy

 4  stars

Reviewed by : Tonya

Format : Kindle Edition

Published by : Amazon Digital services

Source: Purchased Copy

Gene:  Contemporary Romance
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13253954-a-secret-wish

Blurb

Three women, three birthdays and one unforgettable night that will change their lives forever.

One night in San Francisco, three women make a birthday wish believing it can’t possibly come true. Liz is turning thirty. A successful nurse, she has a good career, but no man to share her life. All her friends are married, and she’s alone, still trying to outrun a tragedy from her past. Then she meets a handsome stranger.

Angela, a member of a large, loving Italian family, is facing thirty-five with no baby in the nursery. Eight years of infertility treatments have put a strain on her marriage. Will she have to choose between her husband and having a child? When she is mugged by an unexpected assailant, her life takes a new turn.

Carole, a corporate wife, is staring down forty candles. Having grown up poor, she worked hard to get ahead, but when her kids bail on her birthday, and she discovers her husband with another woman, she realizes that she may have nothing at all. She goes back to where it all began, the mother she left behind, and the man whose heart she once broke



Our Review

First this is a happy ending book – but they have to work at those happy endings which is my favorite type of HEA books.

This book is about three different women at different ages and stages in their lives going through what seems like to them a very pivotal and life altering change, some type of crisis. One woman is struggling with becoming a mother. Another is struggling with a bad life and marriage and the third wants to change her life, find love, be more outgoing.

The author did a fabulous job bringing the characters to life. You get pulled into each ladies lives, their hearts are opened their souls bared and you feel like you are them when reading this story.

Angela and Colin struggling to become parents, and a bad birthday party, a preacher and fate make them both realize that they have lost track of what was important. Until that fateful night when Angela is mugged and everything changes.

Carly had everything she wanted yet it wasn’t enough. Her kids were never around, she was just another possession for her husband and had not had a relationship with her mother in to long. Fate brings her back home, brings someone from her past into her life and big changes happen for her.

Then there is Liz I think out of all three ladies she is my favorite. Don’t get me wrong I loved all the ladies stories but I just really related to Liz and loved hers the most. Liz is a nurse and is celebrating her birthday by herself on the top of the hospital when a really gorgeous man shows up, after a night of doing things she would never do in her life, and then the next day being ripped into reality her life is forever altered.

I really can’t say anything more because it would just give too much away but I am so glad I read this book I just absolutely loved it and look forward to reading other books by Barbara.








About the Author

Barbara Freethy is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of 52 novels. Traditionally published for many years, in 2011 Barbara began self publishing her backlist and has sold over 6 million ebooks. In 2014 she was named the Amazon KDP bestselling Author of ALL TIME! Twenty-two of her titles have appeared on the NY Times and USA Today bestseller lists. 

Barbara writes contemporary romance, romantic suspense and women's fiction. She is known for writing emotional and compelling stories that include love, mystery, family, secrets, and often a little suspense. 

She is currently writing three series: A contemporary family series The Callaways about a family born to serve and protect and begins with ON A NIGHT LIKE THIS; a romantic suspense trilogy Lightning Strikes that starts with BEAUTIFUL STORM, and a series of short sweet romances Bachelors & Bridesmaids that begins with KISS ME FOREVER. 

In addition to those three series, I also have a WISH series that begins with A SECRET WISH and ANGEL'S BAY that begins with SUDDENLY ONE SUMMER. And if you love, big, rich, emotional novels that standalone, I have 17 standalone romance novels as well as several romantic suspense duos. 

Please visit my website at www.barbarafreethy.com for more information.
Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/BarbaraFreethy
Check out my Facebook Page at http://www.facebook.com/BarbaraFreethyBooks


** Readers should know that the titles THE CUZZIAN HORSE and PATRICK MICHAEL O'REILLY'S 13TH SUMMER, which often appear mixed in with Barbara's titles, are written by a different author with the name of Barbara Freethy



Thursday, September 15, 2016

Cover Reveal for Three Simple Words (The Kingston Ale House Series) By A.J. Pine



Stud alert! I am so excited to share with you, the first look at the sexy cover for Three Simple Words by A.J. Pine! The highly anticipated third book of The Kingston Ale House standalone series releases 10.17.16.


threesimplewords_500x750

Add on Goodreads!


About THREE SIMPLE WORDS:


Annie
I know where to find my happily ever after—between the pages of a romance novel. It’s why I sell books, why I blog about them, and why I’ll never get disappointed by love.

So what if my brother’s best friend from high school is now a bestselling author? Or that he just blew back into town on a Harley, filling out a pair of jeans like he never did before? Or that he’s agreed to do a signing at my bookstore on such short notice? Because despite all his adoring female fans, I kind of hated his book.
Wes
The last time I saw Annie Denning, she was a senior in high school, three years older than me and way out of my league. Now I’m her last-minute date to a wedding, and what started as a night of pure fun has turned into something more real than either of us anticipated.

Annie is my muse. When I’m with her, my writer’s block fades away, and the words finally flow.
The only problem? She wants the fairy tale—her very own happily ever after—and anyone who’s read my book knows the truth. I just don’t believe they exist.

About A.J. Pine:


AJ Pine writes stories to break readers’ hearts, but don’t worry—she’ll mend them with a happily ever after. As an English teacher and a librarian, AJ has always surrounded herself with books. All her favorites have one big commonality–romance. Naturally, the books she writes have the same. When she’s not writing, she’s of course reading. Then there’s online shopping (everything from groceries to shoes). And a tiny bit of TV where she nourishes her undying love of vampires, superheroes, and a certain high-functioning sociopath detective. You’ll also find her hanging with her family in the Chicago ‘burbs.

AJ Pine is the author of the If Only series, the Only You series, and the current Kingston Ale House series.

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Book Review for After Today by D. Love




After Today

By: D. Love



5 stars

Reviewed by : Tonya

Format : Kindle Edition

Published by : Amazon Digital services

Source: Purchased Copy

Gene:  Contemporary Romance

 http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23697559-sawyer-beckett-s-baby-mama-drama-guide-for-dummies

Blurb

Even after the devastating loss of her mother, Emily continues to live vicariously for today only. Dedicating her life in sharing her motto, she’s helping patients at the hospice clinic that her father Jett opened in memory of her mother. 

Yet at the age of twenty-five, Emily’s family prays that she will stop grieving enough to let love in even though her only ambition is saving her dad. Little does Emily know, life never goes to plan. When the Eland brothers enter Emily’s life, they cause her to divert her mission and create a spark that she never knew existed. Emily’s beautiful today has always consisted of watching souls pass on, but can she allow love in or is she too focused on what happens after today?


Our Review

After Today is the 2nd book in the “Today Only” series. A very emotional and inspirational series. And it is only the 2nd book ever that I am giving a 10 Heart Rating (Today Only being the 1st)

Let me first start off by saying if you have not read book #1 “Today Only” please DO NOT read this book until you do. You can find my review for the 1st book here and I really recommend reading my review and then the book –

Now onto the review for After Today, this picks up with Emily all grown up and working at a hospice type clinic. A place where your loved ones go to be taken care of until they pass on to the afterlife. When I read chapter 1 and there is Emily is with a patient who had just passed and think to myself. WOW, after losing her mother at such a young age to be working at this place where no one leaves to go home, but instead they leave for eternity, such strength that would take.

Her father Jett, who was married to her mother (Rye) for 1 year, again read book 1, bought the building and dedicated it to his wife, and Emily’s mother. What a tribute. Her life made such a big impact on those left behind.

I had a very hard time getting through book one. NOT because it was bad, because it was so good, so touching, so emotional and so moving for me. See I too have lost my mother. Anyone who has lost a loved one knows the pain of that loss. Anyone who has lost a mother knows the deepness of that pain. My mother was my best friend it felt like a double loss to me. Author D. Love’s Today Only book came to me at the perfect time.

Now reading After Today I feel the same emotions I felt reading book #1. This book is so well writing. Jett and Emily have struggled to move on, though they won’t admit it, though they try to not show it, everyone knows it. Jett worries about Emily, and vice versa.

In comes Brock, he is a landscape designer, good looking is putting it mildly. Down right gorgeous…. He comes into Emily’s life during a time that he himself is going through some personal turmoil. He is hired to design the perfect garden at the center and he is working for Emily.

The attraction between the two is immediate and unmistakable to everyone. But Emily isn’t quite ready. Then she learns one of her newer patients is Brock’s brother. That brings them even closer. Watching the interaction between Emily and Brock when dealing with the garden, his brother and other situations is so endearing, so touching. You can see how much he cares about her and you can see her fighting her feelings and how scared she is to open herself up to the possibility of Love.

Something in this book that had me really crying, the letters. The letters that Rye wrote before she passed away that are meant to be read during certain times in their lives. There are a few in here.

Please make sure you have tissue or a hanky ready because you will need it. You will go through a box easily in this book. But it isn’t sad tears, well they are but happy sad, such a good book, moving moments, touching scenes.

I have only ever given one other book in the hundreds and hundreds that I have read 10 stars and that was Today Only. This will now be my second book ever to receive a 10 star rating from me. I can’t say enough how absolutely amazing this book is.

Or, how eager I am to read Jett’s story next. Derinda – absolutely phenominal!!!!!
 








About the Author

D. Love normally is the woman behind the scenes, promoting other authors of all genres. She has created a name for herself with her bestselling book, Today Only. Her writing is full of love and hope. She allows a reader to remember 'What their beautiful is today.'
On her off time she is a devoted mother, trusted blogger, and a talented writer who not only ventures in romance but also fantasy that always lets readers feel emotions.

http://authordlove.blogspot.com/