Thursday, December 17, 2015

Breathe Me by Jeri Williams Blog Tour and Giveaway



PRESENTED BY





Title: Breathe Me: A ‘Me’ Novel
Author: Jeri Williams
Audience: New Adult Over 18+
Genre: Romance
Format: Ebook & Paperback
Publisher: Gone Writing Publishing
Cover by: Najla Qamber Designs
Pages: 234 Pages
ISBN: 1517247462
ASIN: B01373A6WS
Date Published: July 31, 2015





You know how you hear those stories about once abused kids growing up and overcoming the difficult lie they have been dealt? They become majorly successful— like FBI agents or lawyers or something cool and never have any lingering problems?
Well, this isn’t one of those stories. In fact, those stories are just that, stories. They are things that I read about in the many books I bury myself in when I’m alone. I used to know how my life was going to be, how I was going to live out my lifeless days: unloved and fearful. Hopeless to the possibility that life, my life, could be anything better than what it is now.
I knew that I would either give up, or give in, either one would eventually be the end of me; I didn’t think that was so bad. I would no longer be constantly reminded that I was sh*t, and would be sh*t, no matter how hard I tried to make it different. I thought it was all easier just to slip away.
But that was before, before Deklan.
***For Mature Readers only due to strong language and sexual content***








Jeri Williams lives a super fabulous lifestyle (by fabulous, she mean's kinda lame) in the hot Florida sun and loves reading of any kind (except instruction manuals and cereal boxes). She has always written stories and made her family listen to them since she was young, although this is her first book she has ever published. She is a mom of an up-and-coming Jerry Seinfeld (in girl form) and also enjoys being right and knowing everything, although she is hardly ever right and really doesn't know anything and is obsessed with inventing miniature zoo animals you can carry around in your pocket (although not really).










Monday, October 19, 2015

Portia by Christina Bauer with Author Interview and Giveaway

portia banner
Presented by
logotrans

Title: Portia
Series: Angelbound Offspring
Vol or Book #: 2portia gif
Author: Christina Bauer
Audience: Adult 18+
Genre: Romance/Fantasy
Format: E-book and Paperback
Publisher: Ink Monster LLC
Cover by: Art by Ana Cruz, Graphics by Paddy Donnelly
Editor: Ink Monster LLC
Pages: 250 pages
ISBN: 9780990635246
ASIN: B00W2A9Q0G
Date Published: 10-27-15

blurb (1)
Unlike her famous older brother Maxon, Princess Portia isn't known for killing demons or attracting admirers. The reason why is simple: a spell was cast on Portia, and the magic has marked her to one day transform into a dreaded Void demon. To fight this horrible fate, Portia’s spent her life hiding in libraries and learning magic. But when the Void demons threaten to destroy all the after-realms—and the handsome dragon Emperor Tempest offers his help—then Portia suspects that her future holds more than just a demonic metamorphosis. Fate is calling the bookworm princess onto the battlefield, and it’s a fight against both deadly enemies and her heart’s desires.
book links (1)
Amazon (1)  goodreads  apple
 
excerpt (1)

Chapter One

I am so late.
My heart beats at double speed while I rush up the staircase to the Ryder mansion. After pulling open the fancy wooden door, I step inside a large and empty foyer. Well, it’s almost empty.
The President of Purgatory is waiting for me. Not good.
Even worse, her mouth is pressed into a thin and frustrated line. No question why she’s unhappy. My lecture on Magic Across The After-Realms should’ve started twenty minutes ago.
“Portia, you’re finally here,” she sighs. “We were getting frantic.”
The President’s known for being tough on crime, graft, and well, everything really. But she’s also my grandmother. When it comes to family, Gram’s a softie who worries like crazy. I should know, being a softie myself. I give her a quick peck on the cheek. “So sorry, Gram. I got caught up.”
Gram’s tail sways warily over her right shoulder. No shock, there. Every quasi-demon in Purgatory has a tail. Gram’s variety is long and black with an arrowhead-shaped end and a mind of its own. Currently, that mind totally suspects that I’m up to something.
Good suspicion, actually.
“What are you working on this time?” asks Gram. “Is it dangerous magic? Please tell me you’re being safe.”
“No, it’s not dangerous at all,” I say.
Which isn’t entirely true.
My cheeks redden with guilt, but I can’t exactly admit that I was up all night trying to track Void demons by casting spells with an enchanted canopic jar. It’s super-tricky stuff. I could’ve ended up with a Void demon in my living room, and I’m not what you call battle-hardy.

Angels with Attitude - Author Interview

What would you have done differently if you were the main character of your book ?

Portia is far more patient than I am. I have serious anger management issues when compared to her. I would have freaked out on everyone early on and never met Tempest. 

What was your inspiration behind this book? 

Portia came into being because one of the characters, Tempest, wouldn’t get out of my head. He started showing up in a book I wrote called Scala (I had to cut him from it) and after that, he kept showing up in other scenes. I was like, hey now! You are who and why do you keep crashing these parties? Finally, I gave him a book and he calmed down.

Why did you become a writer?

I started telling ‘my stories’ as soon as I could talk. By the time I hit first grade, the nuns had to set aside story hour for me at the end of the day so I wouldn’t interrupt class anymore! To this day, stories are going on in my head all the time. My Aunt was a writer, so she steered me in that direction from an early age. Guess I was lucky she didn’t work in an asylum, because I sometimes wonder where my behavior could have sent me otherwise!

Do you have a favorite author or authors?

I love J R R Tolkien. He created the entire sword and sorcery fantasy genre as a backstory for the languages he was inventing while being a smarty pants at Oxford. That’s some serious geek cred. 

Do you like to write your books in a continuing series? 

It’s the only way to fly, at least when it comes to fantasy. You spend so much of your first book establishing the world, it’s only in books 2 or 3 you can really work up a head of steam. 

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why?

Right now, I’d date Tempest in a heartbeat. I always get a girl crush on my leading guys. 

What kinds of books do you like to read in your spare time?

I read paranormal romance or fantasy romance. I like regular romance as well, but there has to be some strong world building so you get to know a sub-group or something that you’d never otherwise meet. I also love when there is an elaborate backstory that plays out over multiple books. Again, that’s something you’re more likely to find in paranormal or fantasy.

As a reader and writer I think it is important to get to know your fans and make a connection with them as an author who takes the extra step to hear what their fans think and want in their continued writing is continued success and key to selling more books .Do you agree with that?

Hell, yes! Especially in fantasy, readers become part of your extended universe. I read every review and take it to heart. I love getting ideas and requests for new books. Bring it on!

Do you cry when writing sad scenes?
I ball my eyes out. That’s how I know I’ve nailed it.

Did you have a Cover Designer?

We work with a number of folks at Ink Monster. It’s a great team!

Who is your fictional boyfriend or girlfriend crush? 

Mr. Darcy. Pride and Prejudice. End of story.

Do just re-read your favorite books? 

Not very often, actually. It’s such a powerful experience for me the first time. 

Do you ever get in a reading slump like your readers do? 

Hell, yes! I read a book a day and go through terrible slumps. There is nothing more depressing than the inability to find a good book…and nothing better than finding a new author I love with a ton of unread novels! 

What is the funniest book you ever read?

Without Feathers by Woody Allen. Classic. 

Questions? Comments?
CBauer (at) inkmonster.net
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorBauer
Twitter: @CB_Bauer

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/Christina_Bauer

about the author (1)
image
 
Christina graduated from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School with BA’s in English along with Television, Radio, and Film Production. An avowed girl geek, Christina loves creating immersive fantasy worlds with action, adventure, romance, and kick-ass female protagonists. As part of her work in Ink Monster, Christina has co-developed the ‘Heroine’s Journey,’ a blueprint for telling female myths inspired by the work of Joseph Campbell. She lives in Newton, MA with her husband, son, and golden retriever Ruby.
 
media links
facebook  Twitter  goodreads  Amazon (1)  Pinterest
Instagram Username : CHRISTINA_CB_BAUER

giveaway (1)









Monday, October 5, 2015

One Week Blog Tour for Quanta by Lola Dodge From October 5 - 13, 2015



quanta banner

Presented by

logotrans

QUANTA GIF
Title: Quanta
Series: The Shadow Ravens
Vol or Book #: 2
Author: Lola Dodge
Audience: YA
Genre: Sci-Fi
Format: E-book and Paperback
Publisher:Ink Monster, LLC
Cover by: Art by Ana Cruz, Graphics by Paddy Donnelly
Editor: Ink Monster, LLC
Pages: 250
ISBN: 9780996086479
ASIN: B00NQAD0TE
Date Published:10-13-15


blurb (1)

Just because Quanta can see the future doesn’t mean she can change it. She’s spent most of her life imprisoned, feeding her captors information to keep herself alive, but she’s finally reached the endgame and her death creeps closer by the moment.
The son of two senators, Altair Orpheus leads a life of privilege that provides the perfect cover for his side job: working with the rebel Shadow Ravens to undermine the ruling Seligo government. Everything is running like clockwork until he crosses paths with Quanta. As he watches her deftly maneuver through life in a perverse prison, his plastic heart melts. A jailbreak would be suicide, but Tair is willing to sacrifice everything to give her a chance at happiness.
Now Quanta senses a terrifying new future brewing. She and Tair are bound together, but every image of them kissing, snuggling, and acting knee-weakeningly happy is balanced by a much darker possibility. They’ll be picture perfect together, but only until time rips them apart. How can she follow her heart when she’s seen how their love plays out?
 
book links (1)
 


Amazon (1)  goodreads  apple 

excerpt (1)

Altair’s POV


Mother smiled like a cat, full of ambition and smugness. “Someone wants to meet you.”
Someone? Suddenly, I knew where this was going. “Mother—”
“There are the Astors.” Mother gave a demure wave and started gliding toward a trio standing near an ice sculpture. Her fingers clamped my arm, dragging me along. Father walked on my other side, sandwiching me in place.
No way to run without making a scene. Senator Astor and her husband stood waiting with their daughter.
A set-up.
My free hand bunched into a fist, but I tucked it into my pocket. I couldn’t make a mistake in front of this audience.
Mother exchanged greetings, then made a sweeping gesture. “This is my son, Altair. Altair, this is Layla Astor.”
Layla’s blonde hair tumbled in artful curls and braids. She wore tasteful neutral makeup that emphasized her full lips and emerald green eyes, but a hint of darker eyeliner smudged like a leftover from some previous night’s debauchery; that was half of what I needed to know to escape the conversation.
And I would escape. I had no interest in these shallow romances meant to gain my family position.
“It’s so nice to meet you, Altair. I knew your sister at academy.” And that was why Cass had been invited. Some common bond to me to a potential future mate.
Good thing Cass had stayed home. She’d hate the situation as much as I did.
The girl extended her arm, flashing her Green Helix and I couldn’t avoid the handshake. “Likewise.” Layla’s rough fingertips gave me the last clue I needed. Calluses from playing an instrument. Between that and the eyeliner, I had an excellent guess at how to get rid of her. Rather than sell her out in front of her parents, I offered her an arm. “I was just about to admire the ice sculptures. Would you care to join me?”
“I’d love to.” She smiled and placed delicate fingertips on my arm.
Our parents grinned conspiratorial smiles as we strolled away. No doubt they’d already picked a wedding date. I waited until we were out of modified earshot to speak. “How upset would your family be if I mentioned that you play in a band?”
“Very.” Layla tensed, and her expression and tone shifted from vapid politeness to shrewd consideration. “Not that you should know.”
I shrugged. “I won’t say a thing as long as you don’t press an engagement.”
“Thank God.” Layla shuddered. “Our mothers schemed this one. I thought you were in on it.”
I grinned. I didn’t often stumble onto others faking their way through Helix life, but every so often an ally dropped in my lap. “Should we small talk for a few minutes and then pretend to offend each other?”
Layla pressed her lips together, eying me up and down. “If you’re up to it, I have a better suggestion.”
“Oh?” I handed her a drink taken from a passing tray. Our parents still watched from across the room.
“Let’s meet for coffee. We could draw this out for months.”
“A faux courtship?” It had promise, although there were certainly risks.
“You’re the first guy they’ve set me up with who’s not a self-centered ass.” Layla’s mischievous smile made her eyes sparkle. “My girlfriend would love you.”
Her voice was clear of subterfuge and I found myself smiling back. “Next week? I’m sure our parents already exchanged our contact information.” And faking a relationship would save me getting blindsided at every event.
“Call me.” She finger-waved and then headed for a crowd of friends, who proceeded to glance my way, slipping a few quickly smothered cackles. I nodded before heading off to work the crowd.
Despite my parents’ efforts, the night was going better than expected.


Angels with Attitude - Author Interview


What would you have done differently if you were the main character of your book?


Probably die. I don’t do very well with running for my life.


What was your inspiration behind this book?

The series was actually co-created with Aileen Erin and Christina Bauer. We all write a pair of characters in the shared world, and we’ve been brainstorming together for a few years now. It’s fun not having to think of every little thing yourself!

Why did you become a writer?

I wasn’t happy in the job I was working, so I decided to give the dream a serious try. So far I’m not living in a van down by the river, so things are going better than expected!


Do you have a favorite author or authors?


J.R. Ward, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Cindy Pon, Anne McCaffrey, Diana Wynne Jones. So many!

Do you like to write your books in a continuing series? 


Usually! If you’re going to build a whole world, it’s nice to stay with it for a while. I know when I’m reading I love seeing the world unfold and reveal its layers over the course of a series.


If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why?


Probably Jamie Fraser from Outlander (the Sam Heughan version) because he’s fantastic and Scottish accents are melty.

What kinds of books do you like to read in your spare time?

I read a good amount of non-fiction these days (and my teenage self would think that’s horrible). Otherwise, a mix of YA, romance, fantasy, and SF.

As a reader and writer I think it is important to get to know your fans and make a connection with them as an author who takes the extra step to hear what their fans think and want in their continued writing is continued success and key to selling more books .Do you agree with that?

For sure! If fans want something I can give, then I’ll make it happen. I actually wrote Junglecat Honeymoon (from my series of superhero romance novellas) because Melissa and Sharonda wanted more were-panther action. Ask and you shall receive!!

Do you cry when writing sad scenes?

No. My emotions are stable to a fault. I only cry for really catastrophic life events and when hormones make me choke up at stupid things like soda commercials.

Did you have a Cover Designer?

Yes! Ana Cruz did the artwork for Quanta (and Cipher). She’s done the art for all the Ink Monster covers to date. We have a separate graphic designer who does the text. The results are always awesome!

Who is your fictional boyfriend or girlfriend crush? 

It’s hard to pick one, but I did always have a thing for Oliver Wood from Harry Potter. I was a lacrosse keeper, he was a quidditch keeper… It would’ve been magic!

If you were able to dine and have a one on one with your favorite writer/author who would it be?

It makes me sad that I never got to meet Anne McCaffrey or Diana Wynne Jones. I’d really love to bring them back and thank them for inspiring me.

Do just re-read your favorite books? 

When I was growing up, I reread the same ones over and over again. I read Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness and Immortals series more times than I can remember. Now I don’t have time to do that, but I still go on an Anne McCaffrey kick every once in a while.



Definitely. I’ve gotten pickier and pickier about what I read since I started learning about writing. I have to read outside of my genre a lot more, but that’s a good thing. 

What is the funniest book you ever read?


I’m going to go with Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman.
about the author (1)

::author photos:LOLA DODGE.jpg
Lola is a compulsive traveler, baker, and procrastinator. She earned her BA in English from Stonehill College and MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University—and hasn’t stopped moving since. When she’s not on the road, Lola spends her time indoors where the sunlight can’t melt her, writing or bingeing on anime and cherry soda. She can be summoned in a ritual involving curry, Hello Kitty idols, and a solid chocolate pentagram.

media links

facebook  Twitter  goodreads  Amazon (1)  Pinterest  instagram


Website/Blog

 

giveaway
 














Giveaway! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 21, 2015

One Week Blog Tour for Alpha Unleashed by Aileen Erin from September 21 - 29, 2015 with Author Interview



alpha banner

Presented By:

logotrans

alpha gif

Title: Alpha Unleashed
Series: The Alpha Girl Series
Vol or Book #: 5
Author:  Aileen Erin
Audience: YA, 14+

E-Book Publisher: Ink Monster, LLC
Cover by: Art by Ana Cruz ; 
Graphics by Paddy Donnelly
Editor: Ink Monster, LLC
Pages: unknown at this time
ISBN: 97809906352A0M
ASIN: B00NX52A0M
Date Published: 10-13-15

green2
Blurb

   Tessa McCaide has had it up to here with supernaturals. Luciana may have failed to steal Tessa’s magic, but she’s just getting started on her crusade for magical domination. If her demonic summoning isn’t stopped, it could mean the end of everything.

Tessa’s allies, including her mate Dastien, are ready to fight, but they’re no match for Luciana’s power. A little help (and ancient Inca mojo) from Tessa’s cousin, Claudia, may give the side of good a chance if she can make it home in time, but stopping the war is no longer an option.

green3


Amazon (1)  goodreads 
 

AmazonGoodreadsNookiBooks  /  Kobo Books
 

excerpt (2)

I trailed off when I noticed Meredith staring hard at something behind me. I quickly glanced over my shoulder. “What?” 
“What’s Shannon doing with that group?” Her lips pressed into a tight, thin line. “And is that Imogene?” Meredith and I might be split on how we felt about Shannon, but we totally agreed on Imogene. 
I turned back to my now-cold omelet and took a bite. “I know,” I said after a second. “Looks like they’re BFFs now.” 
She scrunched up her nose as she thought. “Why is she with those guys? Shannon has nothing in common with them. She’s from the Irish pack. And Imogene? Really?” Meredith stared at them like she could glean answers off them. “Maybe if we all try reaching out to her, she’ll sit with us again.” 
I’d explained what happened between Shannon and I while Meredith was sick, but she didn’t understand. For better or worse, they’d been friends since forever. Their parents were friends and they’d grown up taking vacations together. Meredith was loyal, almost to a fault, and that meant she refused to give up on Shannon. “We tried that, remember? It didn’t work.” 
“I should go over. Try talking to her again.” 
I nearly rolled my eyes. Meredith had tried talking to Shannon, and in her defense—Shannon was still nice to her, but it was a losing battle. Shannon would obviously rather be with her new friends than us. 
Meredith started to stand up, but I grabbed her hand. “I wouldn’t—” 
“I have to try.” 
I let her go as I tried to think of a way to say what I needed to say without making it worse. “I don’t know. I still can’t feel anyone at that table through the pack bonds. Including Shannon.” 
Meredith crossed her arms as she stared down at me. “Whatever happened between you and her, she wouldn’t do anything to harm the pack. Shannon’s not capable of that.” 
I disagreed, but saying so would only hurt Meredith’s feelings. “What if she thought it would help the pack?” And what if they aren’t part of our pack anymore? I thought the words but didn’t say them aloud. 
For a second, Meredith’s lower lip trembled, and I thought I’d gotten through to her, but then she shook her head. “No. I don’t believe that. Not at all.” 
I kept my mouth firmly shut. If there was one person I didn’t want to piss off, it was Meredith. She’d been my friend—no questions asked—from the beginning. She’d helped me through when all I’d wanted to do was run away from St. Ailbe’s. And when I’d sucked at running and kept falling out of windows, she hadn’t made fun of me. Much. “I just don’t want you to get disappointed.” 
“I—” Meredith stopped in the middle of what she was saying, and turned to the door. 
It took me a second to figure out what was going on, but then Donovan came into the cafeteria, and started our way. Maybe he’d be able to reach Meredith, because I sure as hell wasn’t getting anywhere. 
She laughed at something he must’ve said through their bond. “Donovan is going to keep you company while I talk to Shannon. I’ll be back in a sec.” 
There wasn’t any point in trying to stop her. 
Donovan took Meredith’s spot at the table. He wore sweat pants and a T-shirt and his black hair was still messy from his run. His clothes gave of the scents of cedar and grass and dirt, and it almost made me jealous. 
Maybe a run would clear my mind. Help me figure out a way around these visions. 
“She’s checking on Shannon, eh?” Donovan asked, bringing me back to myself. 
“Yeah.” I’d already said my piece to his mate. I didn’t need to repeat myself. 
He jerked his chin toward the table in question. “There’s still something off about them.” 
My fork dropped to the plate with a clatter, and I glared into his glass-blue eyes. “Oh, come on. We’re not doing this.” 
Donovan raised his eyebrows. “Not doing what?” 
He had to be joking. “I just had this conversation with Meredith. I know how the whole mate thing works. There’s not a chance she didn’t tell you.” 
He gave me a wicked grin, and I knew trouble was coming. “Aye. But what you don’t know is that I agree with you.” 
“You do?” Mr. Dawson had been all—everything’s fine. Donovan hadn’t said a word. Why now? 
“Yes. I do.” 
“What do you know?” I leaned toward him, lowering my voice. Pesky Weres and their super-awesome hearing. “Why are their bonds missing? I thought they couldn’t leave the pack without putting in a formal bid to Mr. Dawson.” 
“That’s true enough. I don’t know what’s going on, but I think you’re going to find out. If this absence of pack bond is spreading, then we need to find the cause. Just… Don’t say anything to Meredith until we’re positive. All right?” 
Whoa. I didn’t keep much—if anything—from Dastien. “Do you think that’s wise?” 
“Keeping my opinions from my mate?” One side of his mouth quirked up. “Not usually. But she made her side clear enough with you, and I’d rather not start an argument that won’t get us anywhere.” 
Who knew? Even the great Donovan—one of the all-powerful Seven—was afraid of pissing off his mate. The idea was a little preposterous, but then again—I didn’t like upsetting Dastien either. I’d done it. But that didn’t mean I liked it. That left me with one last question. “Why can’t you keep an eye on them? You’re probably way better at this pack bonds stuff than I am.” 
He raised an eyebrow. “In case you’ve forgotten, I’m not of this pack. I’m an alpha, and can use that to overpower and override the pack bonds if necessary, but this needs more finesse. An insider’s look.” 
“But your mate’s in our pack.” When Dastien bit me, I’d become part of the St. Ailbe’s pack. I figured it would be the same for Donovan and Meredith and their mate bond, even if they hadn’t gone through with their bonding ceremony. 
“Doesn’t work that way. I’m already the alpha of another pack.” 
“So, what about Meredith? Is she still part of this pack?” 
“Until she and Michael decide to let her move to mine. She’ll keep it for as long as she’s here, and I think that’s best.” He leaned forward. “I’ve heard through Michael and Meredith, but I want to know what it is you’re feelin’ from them. I’ve not experienced this before, and that’s sayin’ something to me.” His Irish accent thickened, and I finally knew that someone else was as worried about this as I was. 
“I don’t know what to say except that I can’t feel them. It’s like they’re there, but they’re not.” I sighed. “It makes no sense. Which is why Mr. Dawson blew me off when I brought it up. Shouldn’t you be talking to him about this? He’s the alpha.” 
“What makes you think I haven’t already?” 
The tension on my shoulders relaxed. It seemed like a good sign that two alphas were really talking about the problem. “And?” 
“Nothing. If they’ve withdrawn from the pack, he’s not feeling it.” He leaned in closer, speaking so quietly that even I could barely hear. “But last night, he gave that group of boys from the Canada pack a direct command and they disobeyed. I backed the command and forced their obedience, but I shouldn’t have had to. He’s their alpha. It may be that Rupert Hoel’s influence went deeper than those we’ve caught. There’s still a major player out there, and I’ve a fine idea who it might be.” 
Holy shit. That was bad news. Only someone more alpha than Mr. Dawson could ignore his commands, and they weren’t more alpha. At all. 
“Who?” 
“I think you might know. It’s one who got away.” 
It hit me then. They’d kicked one of the Seven out of the Council. The one who hated me. Ferdinand. “Do you really think it could be?” 
“Aye.” 
“But you didn’t say anything when I brought it up before.” 
“It took me longer to feel what you were getting at. I like to suss things out before actin’. Get fully aware of the situation. If you feel anything else out of the ordinary, let me know. Just be aware that if that lot wants to leave, that’s fine by me. They’re welcome to go their own way, but they need to make formal bids to Michael and they’ll have to tie to the Seven until they find their new packs. It must be done properly, or they’ll be considered lone wolves. And if they align with Ferdinand… I’d like those youngsters to avoid that if possible.” 
My stomach churned, and suddenly I didn’t feel much like finishing my omelet. If the pack was breaking up, then how were we ever going to defeat Luciana? We needed to be united if we wanted to stand the slightest chance of surviving. 




 
green4







Author Photo - Aileen Erin
Aileen Erin is half-Irish, half-Mexican, and 100% nerd—from Star Wars (prequels don’t count) to Star Trek (TNG FTW), she reads Quenya and some Sindarin, and has a severe fascination with the supernatural. Aileen has a BS in Radio-TV-Film from the University of Texas at Austin, and an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. She lives with her husband in Los Angeles, and spends her days doing her favorite things: reading books, creating worlds, and kicking ass.

media links (1)

facebook (1)  Twitter (1)  goodreads  Amazon (1)  Pinterest  instagram


Website - http://inkmonster.net
Blog – http://inkmonster.net/blog/category/aileen
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/aelatcham
Twitter – https://twitter.com/aileen_erin
Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7190350.Aileen_Erin
Amazon- http://www.amazon.com/Aileen-Erin/e/B00EZCXI1C/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1
Pinterest – https://www.pinterest.com/aileenlatcham/
Instagram : Username:  aelatcham


Angels with Attitude - Author Interview – Aileen Erin

AwA: What would you have done differently if you were the main character of your book?

AE: If I were the main character, I think the book would be much more boring… I’m very shy in real life, and not very kick ass at all. That’s why I like Tessa so much. She never backs down, no matter how hard things get. 

AwA: What was your inspiration behind this book? 

AE: This book was very much a culmination of the previous books. It just seemed like the natural progression. I love shifters, and I wondered what it would be like for a girl to get bitten. What kind of changes she might go through. It seemed like a good place for a lot of tension, which is key for any book. I also wanted to write something with a strong female lead. Tessa is that for me. She values Dastien and everything he does for her, but they’re a TEAM. They’re equals. And that’s something that’s really important for me in my books.

AwA: Why did you become a writer?

AE: I started writing for sanity’s sake. I hated my day job, and coming home and writing was a way for me to let go of everything that happened during the day. Once I finished my first book (which is currently in a drawer and will never, ever see the light of day), I realized that writing was where my true passion was. I quit my day job, got a part-time one, and started my MFA in creative writing so I could hone my craft. I haven’t looked back since.

AwA: Do you have a favorite author or authors?

AE: Oh,  boy… My Kindle library has over three thousand books… And that’s not including my real library in my house… But I was really lucky in my MFA to have one of my favorite authors as my mentor—Maria V. Snyder. I also love Anne Bishop. Her world building is outstanding and completely unique. Sarah J Maas is amazing, too. As is Patricia Briggs—I never miss one of her books!

AwA: Do you like to write your books in a continuing series?

AE: I really do. As a reader, I love a series. I like to find out what happens next. I never want it to end. As a writer, I think it’s really fun to keep pushing my characters to grow and change. You get so much more room to play when working in a series.

AwA: If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why?

AE: Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. He’s such a gentleman. And even if he’s a bit reserved at first, he’s generous and kind and would do anything for the lovely Elizabeth Bennet. So dreamy! ;)

AwA: What kinds of books do you like to read in your spare time?

AE: Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, all kinds of YA books, NA Romance, and Contemporary Romance.

AwA: As a reader and writer I think it is important to get to know your fans and make a connection with them as an author who takes the extra step to hear what their fans think and want in their continued writing is continued success and key to selling more books. Do you agree with that?

AE: Absolutely! 100% I love connecting with fans! It’s the best when they reach out. Writing can be very solitary, and hearing from people who are reading your work is such a fantastic feeling. I know I want to grow and expand the Alpha Girl series with other characters, and I always encourage readers to let me know who they’d like a book from, or if they want more from Tessa. As long as they keep reading, I’ll keep writing.

AwA: Do you cry when writing sad scenes?

AE: Yes. But I’ve been labeled the “cry baby” of the family. I cried every night for a week after seeing Up… ;) I really put myself in my character’s shoes, so that means emotionally going on the journey with them. So if they’re sad, I’m sad.

AwA: Did you have a Cover Designer?

AE: Totally! I work with an amazing artist who lives in Portugal on the covers. She’s fantastic!!! And then I have an Irish graphic designer who lives in Belgium that does the graphic design of the covers.

AwA: Who is your fictional boyfriend or girlfriend crush? 

AE: Again, I think I have to say Mr. Darcy. He’s just so dreamy! 

AwA: If you were able to dine and have a one on one with your favorite writer/author who would it be?

AE: Anne Bishop. Her world building is just so fantastic and spot on. So rich and thorough. I’d love to pick her brain a bit and see how she goes about building her worlds.

AwA: Do just re-read your favorite books? 

AE: I do! I re-read all my favorite books. Any book that sucks me away, I’ll read again and again. I always try to see what the author is doing, to see if I can learn from them, but usually I end up getting swept away by the story again. And that’s okay, too.

AwA: Do you ever get in a reading slump like your readers do?

AE: I do! Especially when I’m in the thick of breaking a story or plotting. I’ll open and close book after book, trying to find the one that I want to read. It always takes me a while to realize that the book I want to read is the one in my head… Le sigh.

AwA: What is the funniest book you ever read?

AE: One for the Money by Janet Evanovich. That series in general cracks me up! How can Stephanie get into such messes all the time?! And her grandmother Mazur!!!! And Lula?!!! Total riot!

giveaway (2)


follow



September 21
A Little Bit of R&R - Promo
Books, Authors, Blogs - Promo
Rabid Reads – Promo and Review
The Book Hammock – Promo and Review
Nocturnal Predators Reviews -  Promo and Character Bio's
Where Books Lead Us – Promo and Character Bio's
Angels with Attitude Book Reviews - Promo, Author Interview, and Playlist
Andrea Heltsley Books - Promo and Playlist
 
September 22
3 Partners in Shopping Nana, Mommy, + Sissy, Too ! - Promo
Literary Musings - Promo, Character Bio's, and Playlist
Kelly P's Blog – Promo
The Not So Public Library - Promo, Character Bio's,
Author Interview, and Playlist
The Angels Pearl - Promo, Review, and Character Bio's
 
September 23
Bookworm for Kids - Review
Rustys Reading - Promo
Functioning Insanity Reviews - Promo, Review,
Character Bio's, and Author Interview
TTC Books and more – Promo and Playlist
jrsbookreviews - Promo
 
September 24
Diane's Book Blog - Promo, Review, and Character Bio's
Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books – Promo and Review
Urban Fantasy Investigations – Promo and Top Ten
Bound 2 Escape – Promo
Eclipse Reviews – Promo and Author Interview
Books Books Books – Promo
 
September 25
Room With Books - Promo, Review, and Playlist
Cathy Writes Romance – Promo, Review and Character Bio's
Nellie and Co. – Promo and Review
The Avid Reader – Promo and Character Bio's
Hope To Read - Promo
 
September 28
Crystal's Chaotic Confessions – Promo and Playlist
A Dirty Book Affair – Promo and Top Ten
Stormy Day Reading Books – Promo and Review
deal sharing aunt – Promo
Indy Book Fairy – Promo and Character Bio's
 
September 29
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog - Promo
Smada's Book Smack - Promo, Review, Character Bio's and Author Interview
Iyana Jenna – Promo and Playlist
2 Girls & A Book – Promo and Character Bio's
Portals to New Worlds – Promo and Author Interview