Wednesday, December 28, 2011

The Dragon Master (Dragon #3) by Allyson James

The Dragon Master (Dragon, #3)The Dragon Master by Allyson James

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



A Fire Dragon summoned here by a dangerous mage inflames the passion in the human female he has chosen to become his mate.

My thoughts.........


I am loving this series you can't help but, fall in love with all the characters that interact with one another.Another fast pace easy read.When reading the story you just get that happy feeling and a smile spreads.on your face Found it to be fun loving and the two main character falling in love was nice to see as neither were working for a life mate and that is exactly what they found in the sacrifice's they endured to conquer love between a human and dragon...



View all my reviews


Maid for the Billionaire (Legacy Collection #1) by Ruth Cardello

Maid for the Billionaire (Legacy Collection # 1)Maid for the Billionaire by Ruth Cardello

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



Book 1: Maid for the Billionaire

Dominic Corisi knew instantly that Abigail Dartley was just the distraction he was looking for, especially since having her took a bit more persuading than he was used to. So when business forces him to fly to China, he decides to take her with him, but on his terms. No promises. No complications. Just sex.

Abby has always been the responsible one. She doesn't believe in taking risks; especially when it comes to men - until she meets Dominic. He's both infuriating and intoxicating, a heady combination. Their trip to China revives a long forgotten side of Abby, but also reveals a threat to bring down Dominic's company. With no time to explain her actions, Abby must either influence the outcome of his latest venture and save his company or accept her role as his mistress and leave his fate to chance. Does she love him enough to risk losing him for good?

Book 2: For love or Legacy

Nicole Corisi will lose her inheritance if she doesn't find a way around the terms of her father's will, but she will have to partner up with her estranged brother's rival to do it. As pretense becomes painfully real, Nicole will have to choose between Stephan or the family he is driven to destroy.

Stephan Andrade has been planning his revenge ever since Dominic Corisi unscrupulously took over his father's company. With Corisi Enterprises gambling its reputation on the success of a new software network for China, Stephan finally has his chance to take back his legacy. Dominic's younger sister, Nicole, asks Stephan for his help and provides him with an opportunity to exact his revenge on a personal level.

It all goes smoothly until he falls in love.

Book 3: Bedding the Billionaire

Lil Dartley's life is upside down. Her previously steadfast and predictable sister is marrying an influential billionaire and needs help planning the wedding of the century in less than a month. Years of middle class rebellion have not prepared Lil for handling diplomats or paparazzi.

Jake Walton knows a train wreck when he sees one. Lil was trouble from the first day he met her, but since her sister is marrying his best friend, he has no choice but to help her or this wedding will be in the news for all the wrong reasons. Teaching Lil how to fit into high society would be a whole lot easier if she didn't drive him insane both in and out of the bedroom.


My Thoughts...........

This was my first book by Ruth Cardello and I have to say that I loved it. Thought it was so fun made me laugh out loud so many times.The fact that Abby is laugh out hilarious and so good for Dominick the stuffy Billionaire she is just what he needs. Thought the book had great characters and chemistry between them.The plot was enjoyable and a really nice fun fresh read to pass the time. Look forward to reading the next in the series.



View all my reviews


Bad to the Bone (WVMP Radio #2) by Jeri Smith-Ready

Bad to the Bone (WVMP Radio, #2)Bad to the Bone by Jeri Smith-Ready

My rating: 5 of 5 stars






TURN ON. TUNE IN. DROP DEAD.

Welcome to WVMP, “The Lifeblood of Rock ’n’ Roll,” where con- artist-turned-station-owner Ciara Griffin manages an on-air staffof off-the-wall DJs—including new boyfriend Shane McAllister—who really sink their teeth into the music of their “Life Time” (the era in which they became vampires). Ciara keeps the undead rocking, the ratings rolling, and the fan base alive—without missing a beat.

For Halloween, WVMP is throwing a bash. With cool tunes, hot costumes, killer cocktails—what could go wrong? To start, are religious firebrand ranting against the evils of the occult preempts the station’s midnight broadcast. Then, when Ciara tracks down the transmission, the broadcast tower is guarded by what appears to be . . . a canine vampire? Behind it all is a group of self-righteous radicals who think vampires suck (and are willing to stake their lives on it). Ciara must protect the station while struggling with her own complicated relationship, her best friend’s romance with a fledgling vampire, and the nature of her mysterious anti-holy powers. To make it to New Year’s in one piece,she’ll need to learn a few new tricks. . . .


My Thoughts .........


I am so loving this series I new twist and something new and fresh. The author draws you in and you can't help but, fall in love with all her dysfunctional characters.The main characters Ciara and Shane create such a spark together and they both are learning to live as one for the first time together is so cute and endearing as she has been learning patience as Shane is someone with OCD and it is a funny new twist. Ciara is different and we are not sure How her special talent came about being able to heal vampires we are journeying with her to find out.There is always a plot about that Ciara seems to get mixed up in reminding me a little bit of Sookie Stakhouse.Had several laughs throughout the series and looking forward to the next in the series.



View all my reviews


Monday, October 17, 2011

The Mane Event (Pride #1) by Shelly Laurenston


The Mane Event (Pride #1)
by Shelly Laurenston
5 stars


One of the hottest new voices in paranormal romance, Shelly Laurenston knows how to do it all, delivering tales that are wickedly funny, action-packed, and scorch-your-fingers sexy. With The Mane Event, she proves just how delicious love can be once you unleash your inner beast...

Christmas Pride

How come all the good-looking ones are insane? That's what runs through NYPD cop Desiree "Dez" MacDermot's mind the minute she hooks up again with her childhood buddy, Mace Llewellyn. It isn't just the way he stares at her with those too-sexy gold eyes--as if he could devour her on the spot. Or the six-four, built-like-a-Navy Seal bod-o-death. It isn't even that he sniffs her neck and purrs, making her entire body tingle. It's more about that disconcerting, shifting-from-man-to-lion thing that unhinges her...and makes her want more. Mace likes making Dez crazy. In fact, he likes her any way he can get her--in bed, on the desk, here, now, again. Together, they'd always been trouble, but Dez has no idea just how good trouble can feel...

Shaw's Tail

Brendon Shaw, hotel owner and lion shifter, has seen better days. He's been beaten, had a gun to the back of his head, and had to be rescued by a Pack of shape-shifting wolves. He didn't think he'd survive the night, much less find the woman of his dreams. And he never thought the woman of his dreams would have a Tennessee accent and wear cowboy boots. Once he sets his sights on her, the predator in him is ready to pounce and never let go. Ronnie Lee Reed is ready to change her life, and New York City is the place where any girl--even one who runs with a Pack--can redefine herself. First order of business: find a mate, settle down, and stop using men for sex. Even big, gorgeous, lion-shifting, oh-my-what-big-um-paws-you-have men. Then again...


Paperback, 391 pages
Published October 1st 2007 by Brava
ISBN
0758220367 (ISBN13: 9780758220363)
primary language
English
original title
The Mane Event
url
http://www.shellylaurenston.com/maneevent.php
series
Pride #1
characters
Desiree MacDermot, Mace Llewellyn, Ronnie Lee Reed, Brendon Shaw
setting


My thoughts


Both stories were about shifters. There were the lions, wolves, and hyenas. The first story focused on Mace who was a lion shifter. He knew he had found his mate in Dez, the girl he knew when he was 14. After being in the military he returns home knowing he needed to find his mate to be happy. Dez is in the area and she's an NYPD cop investigating his sister for murder.These two had wonderful chemistry it was like reading and erotic novel super hot and wonderful sex scenes. This is not a author who holds back with her descriptions she wants you enjoy yourself and make you all hot a horny too ! Wow, I still can't believe how good this book was, a paranormal romance but really erotic and super Hot!. The story had an amazing plot and with a surprising enemy, which you never realized who it was until the very end, those are the kinds of mysteries I like! They keep you guessing to the last few pages.Dez was one bad ass chick with commitment issues and quiet the sexual appetite she put Mace through the paces for sure. The chase was well worth it and and we went along for the enjoyable ride..

Shaw's Tail - The way that Lion-shifter Shaw falls so completely for Ronnie Lee, a former wild child wolf-shifter, is really endearing. Their courtship is somewhat a whirlwind kind they dance Shaw stalks and pounces and then retreats so that Ronnie Lee won't feel trapped and flee she is always fleeing. Both characters have a great sense of humor, and are playful both in and out of bed. Ronnie with her commitment issues and Shaw needs to proceed tactfully without scaring Ronnie off.Her issues of becoming attached stem from her mother and her home life.Shaw is just the person to help her overcome her fears.

All the characters in both story's we awesome, funny, lovable, bad-ass and very funny intriguing and a whole lot of fun! Who says cats and dogs don't mix?This is what I love about this author she pairs mates with unlikely candidates that you can't seem to imagine being together because of the rare breeds not staying within the own breed o own kind.Fascinating !Very enjoyable and fun read.


Looking forward to reading all the books in this series and then going to conquer her next series. A recommended read for this book and its series!




New York, New York (United States)

Don't Talk Back To Your Vampire (Broken Heart Vampires, #2) by Michele Bardsley


Don't Talk Back To Your Vampire (Broken Heart Vampires #2)
by Michele Bardsley

Being a mother is never easy-especially when you're undead.

Eva LeRoy, Broken Heart, Oklahoma's librarian, got "vampified" when everyone else did: during a rogue vampire's feeding frenzy. But books still make her undead heart beat-and, strangely enough, so does Lorcan the Loner, the vampire who killed her...

Paperback, 340 pages
Published July 3rd 2007 by Signet
ISBN
0451221702 (ISBN13: 9780451221704)
primary language
English
original title
Don't Talk Back To Your Vampire (Broken Heart Vampires, #2)
series
Broken Heart Vampires #2
characters
Eva LeRoy, Lorcan O'Halloran


My thoughts

My first book my Michele and loved it. Her writing and wit reminded me about another favorite author of mine Gerry Bartlett. I laughed, I cried, and I started wondering if all the hot Gaelic speaking men lived in some sleepy little town in Oklahoma .This little sleepy town had some really HOT vampires where a girl like me would like to find a vamp of her own speaking all sexy Gaelic makes a girl all dreamy and melting inside. LOL I really loved Lorcan and Eva, they were my kind of couple. They both had self-esteem issues, responsibilities, and were strong yet vulnerable on their own. Both grew together in order to get over there complex issues and also learning to forgive and accept the past in order to be happy with ones future.

It seems like a very real town and all these parents are dealing with very real issues: how to do right by their kids, how to set up a working schedule, and how to blend their new lives . The fact that they are vampire's and parents they still had to raise there kids like every other single parent but slightly different. I liked the fact that Eva daughter was accepting of her mother's new life style.The scenes going on between mother and daughter are like any other parents you fight and make up.

Eva's character made me laugh out loud so many of times she was too funny for someone who was suppose to be a mousy librarian. Lorcan had so many layers to him it was nice to see all of the unfolding before your eyes.Several twists and turns along the way. They gave you a little background as to what happened and why 11 single parents where made vampire and why.The other characters when brought over from the first book and included in this book made it fun an interesting. Eva surprised me the most of all forgiving the vampire who turned her life upside down and saw his tortured soul and wanted to ease it by loving him. Not a lot going on in this story just a slow budding romance with two unlikely couples falling in love and one making a sacrifice to save the one they love.

Looking forward to picking up the first that started the series and reading the rest of the series .I am thinking there will be many laughs ahead to read about. Fast fun read read the book in a couple of hours.




Saturday, October 1, 2011

The Mountains Bow Down (Raleigh Harmon Mystery #4)


The Mountains Bow Down View a preview of this book online

The Mountains Bow Down (Raleigh Harmon Mystery #4)

didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it it was amazing
Everything's going to work out. Time away always makes things better . . .


That's what FBI Special Agent Raleigh Harmon believes as she boards a cruise to Alaska. A land of mountains and gems and minerals, the Last Frontier is a dream destination for this forensic geologist who's hoping to leave behind a hectic work schedule and an engagement drained of romance.


But when a passenger goes missing and winds up dead, Raleigh's vacation suddenly gets lost at sea. The ship's security chief tries to rule the death a suicide, but Raleigh's forensics background points to a much darker conclusion: Somewhere on board, a ruthless murderer walks free.


Engulfed by one of her toughest cases yet, Raleigh requests assistance from the FBI and receives her nemesis-handsome Special Agent Jack Stephanson. As the cruise ship sails through the Inside Passage, Raleigh has five days to solve a high-profile murder, provide consultation for a movie filming onboard, and figure out her increasingly complicated feelings for Jack-who might not be as arrogant as she originally thought.


And that's only her work life. Family offers even more challenges. Joined on the cruise by her mother and aunt, Raleigh watches helplessly as disturbing rifts splinter her family.


Like the scenery that surrounds the cruise ship, Raleigh discovers a�mystery so daunting�that even the mountains might bow down before it.


ebook, 384 pages
Published March 1st 2011 by Nelson, Thomas, Inc. (first published February 17th 2011)

ISBN
140168548X (ISBN13: 9781401685485)
primary language
English
series
Raleigh Harmon Mystery #4

My thoughts and Review

Wow! Just happened to pick this book up at the library because the cover and Bio intrigued me and glad I did.This story was a go getter from the beginning.Raleigh is on a cruise to Alaska as she is supposed to be getting some relaxation when she is not working with a picture company filming there.Her vacation plans are blown to hell right from the beginning as she walks upon a dead body hanging over the ship that seems like a suicide but, upon further investigations it looks to be foul play.Being a FBI agent she dives right in the investigation. She calls her boss at home and he sends an agent to assist her.Her assistant seems to be a distraction for he a bit as they seem to have have had past encounters which your are not quite certain were good or bad.Raleigh being a FBI agent is also a gemologist which will help in solving this crime along the way.

You could not help but love Raleigh's character she was a take charge kind of gall.There was so much going on in this story you had to pay attention because, things happened rather quickly.I can say that at any point in this story I did not had a clear suspicious thought about who the killer was.In this story there were so many twists and turns that one clue or clues never really pointed to anyone in particular at any given moment which kept me turning the pages to find out what happen next.

Book was very intriguing as Raleigh took you with her on her journey to solve this crime. I have to say it was a surprise ending for me learning at the tail end of the story to learn who dun-it the suspense was killing me. Totally enjoyable read for me a good mystery to pass the time to. I will be looking into Sibella's past novels to read for sure...

A Recommend read for all....


 

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

A Courtesan's Scandal (The Scandalous Series #3) by Julia London


 
A Courtesan's Scandal (The Scandalous Series, #3) View a preview of this book online

A Courtesan's Scandal (The Scandalous Series #3)

3 stars   3.71 of 5 stars 


Kate Bergeron is the beautiful and mysterious former mistress of a cloth merchant...and the latest beauty to capture the interest of the Prince of Wales. Mired in a disastrous divorce, the Prince attempts to distract attention from his next amorous pursuit by ordering Grayson Christopher, the eligible Duke of Darlington, to pretend to London society that he is having an affair with Kate. When Grayson reluctantly agrees to his Prince's demand, he finds the lady no more willing than he is. Kate will grudgingly act the part in public, but her favors are not for sale to any man. As Grayson and Kate mimic ardor for the world to see, they find what started as a deception becoming all too real. And when passion flames into love, their predicament becomes extreme. For while marriage between a duke and a courtesan could never happen, Kate knows in her heart that she is willing to accept nothing less...
Mass Market Paperback, 371 pages
Published October 20th 2009 by Pocket
ISBN
1416547126 (ISBN13: 9781416547129)
primary language
English
original title
A Courtesan's Scandal
series
 
My Thoughts and Review


A Courtesan's Scandal by Julia London is the tale set during London's period of drama between Princess Caroline and and crown Prince. The Prince has his eye set on stunning courtesan Kate Bergeron, but he can't touch her so long as the authorities in England are investigating into alleged "treasonous" adultery between the prince and princess. The prince enlists the help of the Duke of Darlington, Grayson Robert Henry Christopher to lure society into believing Kate is his mistress. Grayson the Duke of Darlington reluctantly agrees, and upon first meeting Kate he treats her with contempt of her lowly station as a whore but finds that Kate is no simpering miss she has a back bone and will have no trouble fencing with the Duke and his snide comments she just gives it right back no matter that he is a Duke!


What starts out as only a ruse turns to passion for both once Grayson lets down his guard and revises his opinion of Kate.But, once the sparks fly they are doomed form the beginning as she is promised to the Prince of Wales and both know it.But, the two can't help falling for each other and before you know it they are head over heals in love.Not only is the Prince a problem so is the Dukes ex-mistress she will not let go without a fight and does everything she can't to sabotage there relationship.

I like the story it had many things I liked and did not like about this story.This story reminded me of the story The Duke by Gaelen Foley which I totally loved.One of the things that I loved about this story was that he truly got to know Kate for truly who she was an not her title as a Courtesan. Kate being forced when she was a child is how she came about being one.Grayson after learning Kate's tale was appalled at what happened and has turned around in his way of thinking become somewhat her champion.I found that this story was missing something for me anyway.This is suppose to be somewhat like a tragic love story were two opposites should not mix classes and find one another and fall in love.Where was the romance ?or the great passions ? between these two that would WOW you and make your heart wretch with sorrow at the same time.They had a affair and some brief in encounters but not enough passion came from the pages for me for the Duke of the Darlington to risk all he is and has for this one women and cause a scandal that one would never live down in ones lifetime. I just felt something lacking and missing.I wanted more I guess.I do applaud Grayson for stepping up to the plate and taking responsibilities for Kate and his child to be there where so many others would have walked away , I admired that in him.Kate's character grew throughout this book which made her stronger and stronger although experiencing heart break she will just make herself even stronger from it and in the end stand her ground for what she truly deserves in life and will not settle until she gets it.

A nice easy read from one of my favorite authors.Always looking forward to Julia's next book.... 



Sunday, September 25, 2011

Doctor Who: A Fairy Tale Life by Matthew Sturges

Doctor Who: A Fairy Tale Life

Doctor Who: A Fairy Tale Life

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
What's better: an ugly reality or beautiful fantasy? This is the question the Doctor is forced to confront in a medieval fantasy world where Amy Pond finds herself reluctantly cast as a damsel in distress. Matthew Sturges, Eisner Award-nominated writer of Jack of Fables, spins this yarn, featuring covers by Mark Buckingham of Miracleman and Fables fame.
 
Paperback, 104 pages
Expected publication: November 22nd 2011 by IDW Publishing
ISBN
1613770227 (ISBN13: 9781613770221)

My Review:

Received this book courtesy of Net Gallery. I have never really read that many comic like books before so I thought I would give it a try.The cover was enough to intrigue me.Liking time travel books myself I thought to relate to this story.The material that was provided to me for this review was part 1 of 4.

The Doctor who is the main character of this story is an alien the last of the Time Lords.He travels through time alone expect for the humans he befriends.He befriends Amy Pond who wants to travel to a Fairytale Kingdom of Dragon and Knights and wizards. The Doctor see's to it that her wish is granted.


I thought that the graphic's of this comic were well done.The scenes they provided for the comic fit the time period of the story.I was following the story with ease as it started to get intriguing .Although I did not get to find out the ending I think all and all this story will turn out to be a interesting read for comic lovers and those who love fairy tales.

 

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Mr. Darcy Goes Overboard: A Tale of Tide & Prejudice by Belinda Roberts


Mr. Darcy Goes Overboard: A Tale of Tide & Prejudice View a preview of this book online

Mr. Darcy Goes Overboard: A Tale of Tide & Prejudice

Mr. Darcy Goes Overboard replaces ballgowns with bikinis, country mansions with luxury yachts and the militia with a fiercely competitive squad of local lifeguards...
The Bennet family is enjoying their seaside home in Salcombe when Mrs. Bennet hears that the nearby magnificent villa Netherpollock has been taken by a young man of great fortune. She is determined that one of her daughters will go out with him, until Mr. Darcy glides into the harbor on his yacht and she decides he would be the better catch.






Paperback, 224 pages
Published June 1st 2011 by Sourcebooks, Incorporated (first published April 27th 2011)
ISBN
1402246935 (ISBN13: 9781402246937)
primary language
English


My Review and Thoughts

Mr. Darcy Goes Overboard, originally published as Prawn and Prejudice in 2009, is a seaside retelling of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. This contemporary novel takes place in the British seaside town of Salcombe, and instead of carriages, balls  this tale is about boats, swimming, and lifeguards. Every summer, it is a tradition for the Bennet family holiday in Salcombe where there are many aquatic and tourist attractions.But this holiday season there is nothing but handsome men about . Mrs. Bennet sets are sites on the eligible men including Mr. Darcy ,Mr Bingley, etc thinking to make matches for her daughters.This story takes place in modern times but still has that air of the Victorian era about it at the same time. The characters came together for barbeques, sand castle events,Town events, along with swimming events. Some of the stuff that went on in those events gave me some chuckles so I am giving this review 3 stars.If being honest though I did have a bit of a hard time relating to the modern twist on things no sure why but I think that it was the plot need to be more humorous found it rather dry. The texting and slang or short hand texting being used by Darcy sister was funny. Love to read anything with Darcy and Elizabeth in it. I would love to have seen more of a romance aspect between those two in this book. Just and okay read for me...



Sunday, September 18, 2011

Never Cry Wolf (Night Watch, #4) by Cynthia Eden

Never Cry Wolf (Night Watch, #4)Never Cry Wolf by Cynthia Eden

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Sarah comes to the Alpha wolf Lucas for help. She's a charmer who can talk to wolves. She's on the run from her ex-boyfriend, a wolf shifter named Rafe who hurt her during rough sex.Lucas is in trouble and Sarah comes to his aid when he is arrested giving him an alibi pretending to be his girl.Lucas plays along with her game but there is a price she want him to protect her from Rafe and who ever is trying to kill her.She is just not ordinary girl  she come with a very complicated past.Her one secret is she charmer and can talk to wolves and get into there minds.This makes Lucas Alpha pack nervous as hell.The attraction between Sarah and Lucas is somewhat fierce from the get go.He can't keep his hands of her and is falling head over hell and resisting it all the way.This story takes you on one hell of a rider with all the twist and turns and goings on.Lucas learning there is a trade among his pack almost destroys him. And you will see the amount of pain and pleasure on with go through to save the one they love even bargain with the devil.An the sexual scenes in this book are super hot!!!!!This book is a keeper and I am loving this series so far.I have to say that I haven't read them in any special order and I have not gotten lost they all just blend together not like other series if you don't read in sequence it is very confusing.Cynthia has a new fan to follow her on her journey of writing.A Recommend to all a mix of erotica and paranormal all wrapped up in one book!



View all my reviews


Thursday, September 15, 2011

Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson, #2) by Darynda Jones

When Charley is rudely awakened in the middle of the night by her best friend who tells her to get dressed quickly and tosses clothes out of the closet at her, she can’t help but wonder what Cookie’s up to. Leather scrunch boots with a floral miniskirt? Together? Seriously? Cookie explains that a friend of hers named Mimi disappeared five days earlier and that she just got a text from her setting up a meet at a coffee shop downtown. They show up at the coffee shop, but no Mimi. But Charley finds a message on the bathroom wall. Mimi left a clue, a woman’s name. Mimi’s husband explains that his wife had been acting strange since she found out an old friend of hers from high school had been found murdered a couple weeks prior. The same woman Mimi had named in her message.

Meanwhile, Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally) has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He’s left his body because he’s being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. But Reyes can’t let that happen. Because if the demons get to Charley, they’ll have a portal to heaven. And if they have a portal to heaven…well, let’s just say it wouldn’t be pretty. Can Charley handle hot nights with Reyes and even hotter days tracking down a missing woman? Will Cookie ever get a true fashion sense? And is there enough coffee and chocolate in the world to fuel them as they do?

Here is your signpost for the most hilarious read of the summer: Second Grave On The Left.


Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson, #2)Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


My thoughts....



I have to say this is one of the best books I have read in a really long time.This book was a page turner from the beginning to the end sit on your seat of the pants kind of book wondering what is going to happen next.Charley Davidson, Grim Reaper Extraordinaire, is back in this sexy, suspenseful novel of supernatural shenanigans with cohort Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan). Charley has supernatural powers that allow her see people and cross them over and into the light just like the Ghost Whisper show on TV.Charley uses her powers for only good and is like a private investigator when her friend Mimi comes to her to help her find her missing friend.While the two start there investigation the find that the missing disappearance to there friend is connected to and event that happen years ago when she was a kid.All those connected with that night are ending up dead. As usual Charley is attracting attention and somebody is trying to kill her.Reyes is always close by  and seems to be there for her whenever she is in danger .Reyes has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He’s left his body because he’s being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. Reyes is in love with Charlie and will do everything he can to protect her and if dying does that he will gladly make that sacrifice but not only does her want to protect Charlie Reyes doesn't want the other demons using him as a portal hole and reeking havoc in our world.The chemistry between Reyes and Charley is so heart felt she just melts in his arms from his kisses. Not sure how this happens as he is a ghost but, boy is she experiencing the effects from great love making and taking us readers along for the blissful ride.Charley's investigation takes readers on one hell of a ride.She is persistent and has faith that she will be able to find out what happened to Mimi's friends in the meantime getting caught up in various dangerous situations she will find out what a special she was given as she see's it as a curse now and finding that she has more powers that she even new they just needed to be tested. I am rooting for her and Reyes but it won't be and easy ride there is plenty of heart beak ahead for this couple but I am rooting for a happening ever after.Second book in the series as I missed the first I ordered it.I am going to love this new series. I just happened to see this book at my local library and decided to pick it up as I never heard of this author before and now that I have I am hooked. A recommended read for all!





View all my reviews

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1) by L.A. Meyer

Life as a ship's boy aboard HMS Dolphin is a dream come true for Jacky Faber. Gone are the days of scavenging for food and fighting for survival on the streets of eighteenth-century London. Instead, Jacky is becoming a skilled and respected sailor as the crew pursues pirates on the high seas. There's only one problem: Jacky is a girl. And she must use every bit of her spirit, wit, and courage to keep the crew from discovering her secret.


 Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy by L.A. Meyer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Enjoyable read. Lots of action and adventure. A girl aboard a pirate ships adventure posing as a young boy but grew into a young women. Mary finding love in the mist of battles and hardships.Lots of cussing and drinking and so forth all the things that go on a pirate ship.While reading this book you thought you were there right along with Mary.The descriptions of people places and things made you feel like you were living the adventure.



View all my reviews
Life as a ship's boy aboard HMS Dolphin is a dream come true for Jacky Faber. Gone are the days of scavenging for food and fighting for survival on the streets of eighteenth-century London. Instead, Jacky is becoming a skilled and respected sailor as the crew pursues pirates on the high seas. There's only one problem: Jacky is a girl. And she must use every bit of her spirit, wit, and courage to keep the crew from discovering her secret.

Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, #3) by Kieran Kramer


Every woman dreams of saying “I do.” Jilly Jones did—and years of a deeply imperfect marriage followed. Now living in London and working in a charming bookshop, the free-spirited Jilly is perfectly content with her new found independence…until she meets a dashing naval officer who sparks her longing for a real happily ever after.
Captain Stephen Arrow is just home after years of service, and he’s in no hurry to give up his hard-won freedom. The meddlesome bluestocking Jilly Jones is exactly the kind of woman he doesn’t need…But there’s something about her that keeps drawing Stephen back to the bookshop. With her sparkling wit and understated beauty, she seems like a surprisingly real match for Stephen. But will a scandalous chapter in Jilly’s past stand in the way of their heated attraction? For this bachelor, nothing is impossible…



Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, #3)Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage by Kieran Kramer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Cute book and enjoyable read not as much depth with this storyline as previous books just an okay read.Liked that the main character Jilly was a wife who left her husband and to make a living she buys and opens a bookstore no typical for that time period especially since women did not work.Loved Jilly's love interest Captain Stephen he was funny in his pursuit of her and his constant butting in interest in her bookstore not a common interest for a man of the military so that was different to see.I liked the book but found it lacking a bit it was missing something. I am thinking that it had to do with Jilly's husband finally finding her and the outcome of that drama(that's it not enough drama)or suspense drawn out the conclusion tidy up to neatly to quickly for me.Looking forward to her next read....



View all my reviews

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack, #1) by L.A. Meyer

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy by L.A. Meyer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Enjoyable read. Lots of action and adventure. A girl aboard a pirate ships adventure posing as a young boy but grew into a young women. Mary finding love in the mist of battles and hardships.Lots of cussing and drinking and so forth all the things that go on a pirate ship.While reading this book you thought you were there right along with Mary.The descriptions of people places and things made you feel like you were living the adventure.



View all my reviews

Friday, September 9, 2011

The Reluctant Vampire (Argeneau #15) by Lynsay Sands

The Reluctant Vampire (Argeneau, #15)The Reluctant Vampire by Lynsay Sands

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Has this immortal finally met her match?



Rogue hunter Drina Argenis (from the Spanish side of the Argeneau family) has been many things in her years as an immortal, but bodyguard/babysitter to a teenage vampire is something new. There's an incentive, however: the other vampsitter, Harper Stoyan, may be Drina's life mate.



Trouble is, having just lost a life mate, Harper is resigned to being alone. He's completely unprepared when sexy and unpredictable Drina bursts into his life to reignite his passions. Can Drina, with a little matchmaking help from their teen charge, tempt this reluctant vampire to take a chance?



Or will a dangerous, unseen renegade kill Drina and Harper's one chance at happiness?



My thoughts............



Wow what a great book .This story had me laughing my butt off right from the beginning with Drina meeting Stephanie she is a new vampire turned and not only that she has exceptional powers and she needs protection as someone is trying to kill or where others want to kidnap her and use her for her powers and there own wicked deeds.Drina is sent to watch over Steph but not only that she knows that she will be meeting her life mate at the same time.But, Harper her supposed life mate has lost his past life mate in the turning and it not even thinking of another so there is a dilemma as he feels nothing but guilt for a dead girl.It won't be easy that is for sure but with Stephanie and her match making skills it going to be easier.The dynamics of this crew of vampires works well together creating and fun loving and caring family.And Stephanie's and Drina budding relationship is something to see it nothing but fun and laughs and some danger along the way.The funniest part of this book was the whole shopping scene in Walmart I never laughed so hard before very enjoyable book....Looking forward to the next book in November 2011.



View all my reviews

Glimmerglass (Faeriewalker #1) by Jenna Black

Glimmerglass (Faeriewalker, #1)Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


It's all she's ever wanted to be, but it couldn't be further from her grasp...







Dana Hathaway doesn't know it yet, but she's in big trouble.  When her alcoholic mom shows up at her voice recital drunk, again, Dana decides she's had enough and runs away to find her mysterious father in Avalon: the only place on Earth where the regular, everyday world and the captivating, magical world of Faerie intersect. But from the moment Dana sets foot in Avalon, everything goes wrong, for it turns out she isn't just an ordinary teenage girl--she's a Faeriewalker, a rare individual who can travel between both worlds, and the only person who can bring magic into the human world and technology into Faerie. 







Soon, Dana finds herself tangled up in a cutthroat game of Fae politics. Someone's trying to kill her, and everyone seems to want something from her, from her new found friends and family to Ethan, the hot Fae guy Dana figures she'll never have a chance with... until she does.  Caught between two worlds, Dana isn't sure where she'll ever fit in and who can be trusted, not to mention if her world will ever be normal again...



My thoughts....



Thought this book was a great read it kept me interested and turning the pages.This book mainly is an introduction to the series to come introduction its players in my opinion.Dana is running from a mother who does nothing but embarrass her and drinks way to much.Learning that here mother left her father in Avalon Dana runs away from home at to Avalon to a father she has never met.Once reaching Avalon Dana is involved in a battle of power who will be the next ruler learning her father is in prison at the time and know one to protect her she is kidnap by her Aunt and pretty much jailed herself then being kidnapped yet again by a brother and sister and brought to another underground compound.Dana there learns by now why she is so special and a so called weapon to the one who wants the power she is known as a Faeriewalker meaning she can walk between both world meaning she can enter realms that other cannot making her a very powerful weapon.Lost in a world where everyone is using her lying to her trying to protect her she doesn't know who to trust she just want to go home where people aren't trying to kill her but, that is impossible now that her father had learned of her and what she can do she needs to be protected and if that is not bad enough she is trying to forge a relationship with a father she never met and he to who never never he had a daughter.The book takes you on one heck of a ride to figure it somewhat out and what she needs to do just to stay alive and finally maybe learn who she can trust.The book also leaves you wondering who might be her love interest through all of this we are just going to have to have to see.Great start to a new series first time author read for me and looking forward to the second book already on order.



View all my reviews

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Look for My Up and Coming Review of Nalini Singh Archangels Blade

 Nalini Singh - Archangel's Blade

Format: Mass Market Paperback, 310 pages
Published: September 6th 2011 by Berkley Sensation
ISBN: 0425243915 (ISBN13: 9780425243916)
Language: English
Title: Archangel's Blade
Series: Guild Hunter #4
Characters: Dmitri, Honor, Sorrow, Venom, Illium, Elena Deveraux, Raphael (Archangel)


Summary:
The severed head marked by a distinctive tattoo on its cheek should have been a Guild case, but dark instincts honed over hundreds of years of life compel the vampire Dmitri to take control. There is something twisted about this death, something that whispers of centuries long past…but Dmitri’s need to discover the truth is nothing to the vicious strength of his response to the hunter assigned to decipher the tattoo.

 Savaged in a brutal attack that almost killed her, Honor is nowhere near ready to come face to face with the seductive vampire who is an archangel’s right hand, and who wears his cruelty as boldly as his lethal sensuality…the same vampire who has been her secret obsession since the day she was old enough to understand the inexplicable, violent emotions he aroused in her.

 As desire turns into a dangerous compulsion that might destroy them both, it becomes clear the past will not stay buried. Something is hunting…and it will not stop until it brings a blood-soaked nightmare to life once more…

Haunted Honeymoon (Casa Dracula #4) by Marta Acosta

Haunted Honeymoon (Casa Dracula #4)Haunted Honeymoon by Marta Acosta

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


THERE’S MORE THAN HER HEART AT STAKE. . . .As the only human to survive vampire infection, Milagro de Los Santos has become quite a celebrity among the blood-drinking elite. Too bad the perks of her condition—increased strength, super-fast healing—don’t pay her condo fees. There are other complications too. She’s feeling guilty about her fling with enigmatic Vampire Council member Ian Ducharme, and pining for her ex-fiancĂ©, Dr. Oswald Grant . . . the fabulous man whose kiss changed her life. It’s when Milagro—irked by Ian’s attentions to his neighbor—travels to London and enjoys a sexy flirtation of her own, that the blood really hits the fan. Suddenly, those around her are dying gruesome deaths and Milagro’s being interrogated. Who would kill to set her up as a murder suspect? Milagro just wants to turn back the clock and have another chance to make things right, but no sooner has she escaped to Oswald’s ranch than an accident obliterates her memory. Will the murderer come after her now? And will amnesia spark a romantic do-over with Oswald—or will she make all the same mistakes before she ever gets to say "I do"?



My thoughts...

Milagro questions her relationship with the powerful Vampire Council member Ian Ducharme. Ian aggressively pursued her and although she had been engaged to another vampire named Oswald, she was unable to resist Ian's allure and broke their engagement. But Ian has a darker side and Milagro wonders what her life would have been like it if she had stayed and married her steady and handsome ex-fiance (Oswald)instead.Deciding to take a break from Ian and thoughts of what could have been with both loves  she's off to see a vampire surfer where she has a fling and some hot and heavy sex.Deciding to hook up at a later date once she is back home the sexy surfer shows but ends up dead.Milagro ends up being the likely suspect but she has a accident and now has amnesia and can't remember anything . Torn and lonely she returns home to be comforted by Oswald and surrounding family.Thinking she may have a do -over with Oswald they strike up there relation again but, Oswald is not being honest in his feelings for her.It was one hell of a  ride that Milagro took us on to solve a murder and trying to find out what her true feeling for the two men in her life one that she loves and the other super sexy vampire Ian she can't forget or remember at the same time. I thought this book was a fun and sexy read full of life and vibrant character's and some very wild and hot sexy vampires that brought some hot sex to the pages of this book that only a girl in love with a sexy vampire could appreciate made me laugh quite often.Quite and enjoyable read and look forward to the others in this series.First time read of this author for me and I have already ordered the rest to read in the series and I am looking forward to it. Can't wait!



View all my reviews


The Werewolf Upstairs (Strange Neighbors, #2) by Ashlyn Chase

The Werewolf Upstairs (Strange Neighbors, #2)The Werewolf Upstairs by Ashlyn Chase

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Desperate for change, public defender Roz Wells decides moving into a new apartment is just what she needs to shake things up. But she'll get more than she bargained for when she starts dating the drop dead gorgeous boy next door, who just happens to be a shape-shifter...and quite possibly a criminal. Security salesman Konrad Wolfensen has made a living staging break-ins to spook people into buying his security system, but when he's accused of a much more serious crime, he'll have to enlist the help of his sexy new neighbor/girlfriend to keep his cute, slightly wild rear end out of jail. Praise for Strange Neighbors: "The good-natured fun never stops. Chase brings on plenty of laughs along with steamy sex scenes as Merry and Jason bewitch each other amid the supernatural mayhem." - Publishers Weekly A multi-published author with Ellora's Cave/Cerridwen Press,



My thoughts



I thought this was a great read found it to be funny and humorous.A lawyer has moved into her friends building not knowing that this that these apartment are full of all sorts of paranormal tenants.Roz hooks up with cute looking bad boy Konrad.The meet for the second time when Konrad is arrested and she is representing him as his public defender. After getting him off of the charges against him these two hook up and the sparks start flying immediately. But, Konrad is holding back a big secret and starts waring on his conscious as he had found his mate in Roz and he is totally falling head over heels in love. Roz being a realist is having a hard time learning about Konrad secrets and also those of the building learning that the all are of a different species.But, her love for Conrad helps her cope even if she is not a total believer.There are several people working together trying to solve a mystery of stolen artifacts from a museum and a reward on the line to solve it.But, Konrad's innocent involvement leads to his arrest for the crime and Roz needs to come to the his rescue to get him off the hook even after learning his secrets. I also found that Roz and Konrad's courtship to be hilarious. The two unhappy with there jobs make a list of what the would like to do as another career and set forth in motion on trying to figure that out but mishap after mishap proves that the are not cut out for that career choice so they cross it off the list.These antic keep me laughing throughout the book. This author was a first for me and looking forward to other books written by her they are on my to read list as we speak.



View all my reviews

His Captive (MacGruder's, #1) by Diana Cosby

His Captive (MacGruder's, #1)His Captive by Diana Cosby

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


With a wastrel brother and a treacherous former fiance, Lady Nichola Westcott hardly expects the dangerously seductive Scot who kidnaps her to be a man of his word. Though Sir Alexander MacGruder promises not to hurt her, Nichola's only value is as a pawn to be ransomed.Alexander's goal is to avenge his father's murder, not to become entangled with the enemy. But his desire to keep Nichola with him, in his home - in his bed - unwittingly make her a target for those who have no qualms about shedding English blood. Now Nichola is trapped - by her powerful attraction to a man whose touch shakes her to the core. Unwilling and unable to resist each other, can Nichola and Alexander save a love that has enslaved them both?



My thoughts....

This was a cute fast read but not much substance would have like to see more of a plot. Its about a kidnapping of a Lords sister who they plan to ransom.The characters of this story are drawn to each other right from the beginning.Although both parties try to fight this attraction to each other as they are suppose to be enemies.I found myself laughing a lot throughout the book Nichola antics while being held prisoner we hilarious.I found the tender hear ted Alexander to be endearing his love and attraction for Nicola was a surprise to see for a harden Highland warrior.Found Alexander to be a noble warrior in his decision on choosing between his family and Nicola turned out to be the right one even if it was a hard choice and tore his heart out in doing so.Look forward to catching up on the other books in the series.I new author added to a list of growing new comers for me.




View all my reviews

Jeannie Out of the Bottle by Barbara Eden, Wendy Leigh

Jeannie Out of the BottleJeannie Out of the Bottle by Barbara Eden

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I loved this series so I was so looking forward to reading this book.I did all I could to get through it. I found Barbara to be very conceited when telling her story.The Jeanie blinking back and forth made me dizzy all that skipping around and not staying within a timeline.All the famous stars that she came in contact with (meaning the men mostly)she wouldn't give the time of day.She gave these super stars the snub really.In my thinking if you had just gone out with the stars for dinner at least once when single it would have added to her status as a rising star.Who wouldn't want to go on a date with Elvis Presley or JKF our future President?The other thing is that her story only pertain to her career never really went into her personal life. Yes, she told you about her failed marriages and her sons drug problems but there was never any real depth of her life outside of her career from childhood on up.She also never really went into weather or not she had any drug or alcohol problems (or was even tempted by the life style)like so many other stars she told you about her husband chucks but never really went on to say that she crossed that bridge or not like other stars.If you read this book it was like she was walking perfection...



View all my reviews